Blogia
LUCIA'S STORIES FROM ABROAD

The Long Road

How do you manage the fact that your life has change for ever in a way there is no turning back?  Even if I wanted to go back to Colombia, I wouldn’t be having my old job and would probably end in a completely different company.  After 8 and half years in Nestle, am I ready to do that?

 

I can’t go back. It has been only one week and it feels a lot like the last time I came here:  same hotel, same room, same routine, same desk, same people, same mess…… no training plan, no phone, no portuguese.

 

How long does it take to feel like home? When do I stop thinking in the people I left behind? How long does it take for me to realize that they are gone for good? That I am gone for good?

 

I took the long road but feels like temporary. It feels that I will go back in a few days, maybe a month, not any longer. It seams that I only have to hang in there for a few lonely weekends and everything will be ok.

 

This is it. I am here now.  I am gone now.  I left my heart and soul there. I am an empty shell where only body parts exist. Everything I ever loved was left there.  I need to grow new things inside me or my shell will drop dead in any second, lifeless and dark and ugly.

 

I was accused of horrible things yesterday……. I do not longer belong to that place. What you can’t see, won’t hurt you.  Only good people will remain in my heart. ‘Cause “the water rolls down the drain”[1], and “ash to ash, dust to dust, fade to black… but the memory remains”[2], and those worth remembering will loved and cherish for ever.

 

This is the long, long, long road.  Today, Real Live Brazil stars.



[1] The Decemberist, JULY, JULY!

[2] Metallica, THE MEMORY REMAINS

0 comentarios