Blogia
LUCIA'S STORIES FROM ABROAD

My First Diamond

I was told that almost every woman’s first diamond was the one from their engagement ring. Some lucky ones get a 2.5 carat Tiffany’s Setting (the ring of rings). Others with a bad taste groom, will get a hideous 18k yellow gold pearl shape or emerald cut diamond ring.
In my case, my first diamond was not from a ring. It came in a card, a membership card. After many many many hours of flight, I am a proud Diamond at an airline reward program member.
Since I moved to Brazil, my job requires constant traveling and this year I decided to track it down. During 2012, I visited 24 cities in 15 countries, in 2 different continents. I was 139 days out of my home in São Paulo. I flew almost one hundred thousand miles (160 thousand Ks) in 195 hours of flight. Rounding it up, I spent little more than 8 consecutive days on the air. Now I wonder why I sometimes feel the need for solid ground.
At the beginning of this year, I focus on how to mirror my daily routine with all the traveling and that’s when running started. When one spends almost 40% of the year out of one’s home, all efforts to achieve a normal life will pay off: keep the healthy breakfast no matter what, run at least 3 times a week, sleep no less than 4 hours a day, have a drink with friends if possible once a week....
Naive as I was, it took me a lot to realize that although all these thinks really help my keep my life in track, I left out all the traveling experience from my ideal routine.
Traveling is a big part of my life. Every trip is almost the same: try on almost everything I will were (even take pictures or make a wardrobe list when the trip takes more than 5 days); be half and hour late for the taxi drive to the airport; keep up all night before the flight (either packing or parting, I never sleep); make all these plans to meet friends and boyfriends the week before as if I will never be back; running like crazy at the office having everything ready; getting nails done, perfect haircut, car washed, house clean, and so on and so on and so on.
I crave for the trip, I seize the hole experience, I survive during and I die to fly back. Always the same, and I love it.
No matter if work or leisure, my life IS the trip, and how do I choose to live in between each one. People say one must not be define by one’s job, but in my case, my job got me this way of living that certainly defines me.
My diamond might not be Tiffany’s but it is a big accomplishment, and I am very proud of it. It is worth the cold sweat in every turbulence, the slowest Internet connection at the wanna be VIP launch, the hours waiting at the airport, the never ending cab drive to Guarulhos airport, or the sleepless nights when flying coach. Every mile was flown and next year I go for the pilot wings ;)
I said it before and I will say it again: can’t wait to go on the next trip.
So, to my fellow travelers, I wish you all a 2013 full of unexpected upgrades, no charges for extra suitcase, very calm flight, cero line at the immigration check points, great deals at duty free, and many opportunities to meet friends and family in every trip. But must of all, I wish you big welcomes full of warm hugs and big kisses from your loved ones when you get back home.
Have an out of this world, up in the sky, floating in the clouds, incredibly happy new year! And don’t forget: the sky is our limit!!!!!

0 comentarios